The Government of the Cook Islands Environmental Social Safeguards Framework sets out the Government’s commitment to sustainable development. Through this Environmental Social Safeguards Framework, Government will enhance the implementation of the National Sustainable Development Plan (NSDP) for all projects planned and implemented in the Cook Islands. It is also aligned to the international conventions that the Cook Islands has signed, ratified and has committed to, under the umbrella of the following United Nations bodies: World Health Organization (WHO), International Labour Organization (ILO), Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO), United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the United Nations Convention on Biodiversity, United Nations Convention on the Rights of Child (UNCRC), United Nations Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), and the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disability. The nine Environmental Social Safeguard Standards (ESSS) establish the standards that a project will meet through the project life cycle and are as follows:

ESSS 1: Assessment and Management of Environmental and Social Risks and Impacts
ESSS2: Labour and Working Conditions
ESSS3: Resource Efficiency and Pollution Prevention
ESSS4: Community Health, Safety and Security
ESSS5: Land Acquisition, Restrictions on Land Use and Involuntary Resettlement
ESSS6: Biodiversity Conservation and Sustainable Management of Living Natural Resources
ESSS7: Indigenous People and Traditional Local Communities
ESSS8: Cultural Heritage
ESSS9: Stakeholder Engagement and Information Disclosure

Please refer to the full Environmental and Social Safeguards Framework document here