Development awards 2015

DPM logo-header



Rarotonga, Cook Islands 9 - 12 February

The awards and the Development Partners meeting will be one of the many special events taking place next year to celebrate half a century of self-government in the Cook Islands

The 2015 Development Awards are designed to pay tribute to people, projects, international partners and organisation that have made a special contribution to the country’s first fifty years since self-government in 1965.
After getting off to a slow start the 2015 Development Awards to celebrate 50 years or development since self-government in 1965, attracted nearly 70 nomination forms covering over 110 nominations, some of them covering several decades.

The judges are currently making their decisions and the award winners will be announced at an old-style awards dinner and dance to be held in the old packing shed at Titikaveka (Enua Manea) on everning of Tuesday 10th February. Thirty-five development partner representatives and some regional leaders from other Pacific countries attending the fifth annual development partners meeting will be at the dinner. 

There are 7 categories in the awards, they are:

  1. Best Decade Development Award 1965-1975
  2. Best Decade Development Award 1975-1985
  3. Best Decade Development Award 1985-1995
  4. Best Decade Development Award 1995-2005
  5. Best Decade Development Award 2005-2014
  6. Supreme development 1965 – 2015
  7. People’s Choice award

Nominees are: Mana Strickland, CINCW, Rarotonga Airport Construction, Albert Henry, Metuakore (Motu) Kore, Ron Crocombe, Sir Thomas Davis, Trevor Clarke, ‘Those who made self-government possible’, Harry Napa, Tutaka Programme, Girl Guides Association, Taira Rere, Silk & Boyd, Ewan Smith, George Cowan, Outer Islands Airport Development, Sir Thomas Davis, Frontal Attack on TB, Mike Tavioni, Donald and Marie Melvin, Rotoract, Telecom Cook Islands, Lynnsay Rongokea (Francis), Tuki Wright, Munro Hockin, Kura and Roger Malcolm, T & M Heather, Malcolm Kaijer, Jack Cooper, Te Ipukarea Society, Elena Tavioni, Puaikura Volunteer Fire Brigade, CCECC Capital Programme, Zero Maternal Deaths During Childbirth, Cook Islands Trading Corporation, Robert Skews and Turama Pacific Travel, Chamber of Commerce, Lagoon Day, Paiere Mokeroa Tourist Accommodation, CI Red Cross, Dr Parameshvara Deca, Paul Maoate, Maru Maru Atua and CI Voyaging Society, Film Raro, PI Conservation Initiative (Shark Sanctuary), Te Kainga o Pa Taunga - Mental Health & Wellbeing Centre, Vaka Eiva, Te Vaerua Community Rehabilitation Services, CI Girl Guides Association, CI Breast Cancer Foundation, Ministry of Health Legislative Framework, Kauraka Kauraka, Takitumu Conservation Area, Alfred Charles Wigmore, Tekake Williams, European Union and the Ministry of Education. 

“The 2015 Development Awards will recognise the country's best development achievements over the last fifty years. These awards will honour organisations, individuals and the public and private sector for their efforts in creating positive change in the Cook Islands” Minister Brown.

Members of the public are being encouraged to attend the dinner. Individual tickets or tables of 10 are available for purchase.

awards invite